Oukje den Hollander


To celebrate the 5 year birthday of  7 Mountain Records, time for something atypical!

Idyllen, a collection of poems by Dutch writer Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer was the starting point of the eponymous debut album of the esteemed singer/theater maker Oukje den Hollander. Together with multi-talent Marijn Korff de Gidts she composed twelve stunningly refined songs that are as expressive as they are intimate. Rarely a young singer dares to portret her inner self so honestly.

Twelve poems (all Dutch!) have been selected to reflect both modern social themes as well as personal ones. Incalculable, whimsical, lyrical, direct as well as romantic, cropped in a 40 minutes musical journey. All performed by a broad team of classical trained musicians, with the honey-like voice of Oukje always on top of it.

Also available in a limited edition vinyl pressing (a 7MNTN first!).


Click on text to reveal full article

4 stars @ NRC (Dutch) Nov ’19: ‘an album you can listen to repeatedly and one that will surprise you with pure singing and ingenious instrumentation’

3 stars @ DB vh Noorden (Dutch) Dec ’19: ‘crystal clear singing and variety of instrumentation’ 

1.Het liefste was ik klein
2.De nacht is aangezegd
3.Leven is genoeg
4.We zijn een eiland
5.Winter komt
6.De liefde wil op tijd naar bed
7.De ruimte is niet heel ver weg
8.De zee
9.Ik red me wel
10.Maar kapitein
11.Namen van de liefde
12.Het was een golf